Do you have the coverage you need for your auto insurance policy? If you don’t have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage on your auto insurance policy, you might want to consider adding them.
- If you’re a victim of a collision with a driver who had no auto insurance, or an accident with a driver who has very little coverage, you could be stuck with the financial burden of a car crash.
What is uninsured & underinsured motorist coverage?
- Adding uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage to your auto insurance policy can protect you financially and save you a lot of headaches in the event of an accident. Uninsured and underinsured motorist property damage coverage is usually broken down into two categories, uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage and uninsured motorist property damage coverage.
Uninsured motorist insurance (UM) protects you if you’re in an accident with an at-fault driver, and that driver does not have liability insurance. It also protects you if the at-fault driver is an unknown motorist who flees the scene of an accident. Uninsured motorist’s bodily injury coverage will pay for the costs of your injuries up to your policy limits in case of hit and run accidents.
Underinsured motorist insurance (UIM) helps to compensate for when the at-fault driver’s liability limit is too low. The insurance coverage is insufficient to meet the cost of all damages and medical bills you’ve sustained in the accident. While many drivers do carry insurance, many fail to carry enough to cover a serious injury claim.
Protect yourself! Add uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage
By adding this coverage, your insurance will pay for all recoverable damages up to your policy’s limits. If you don’t have this coverage, you would need to sue the at-fault driver to recover your damages. In most cases, if they are uninsured, they do not have the assets for you to recover.
Penalties for Uninsured Motorists
Pennsylvania law requires all Pennsylvania motorists to maintain vehicle liability insurance on current registration and various fines. If you are unable to show proof of insurance when asked by a police officer, you can face one of the following penalties:
- Minimum 300 dollar fine
- 3-month suspension of your vehicle registration
- 3-month suspension of your license
- $50 restoration fee to restore your vehicle registration
- $50 restoration fee to restore your license
Your vehicle will not be allowed to be driven by anyone while the registration is suspended.
All insurance companies are required to notify PennDOT when an insurance policy is cancelled or terminated by an insured or by the insurer. PennDOT then mails the vehicle owner a letter requesting new insurance information. If the owner fails to provide that information, the PennDOT suspends the owner’s vehicle registration for three months.
Don’t be left holding the bag if you collide with an uninsured driver. You can protect yourself easily by purchasing uninsured motorist coverage and underinsured motorist coverage. The injury lawyers at Munley Law have been protecting the rights of victims of car and truck accidents for decades. When you’ve been injured in an accident due to the negligence of another driver, you want to know that your medical and other expenses will be covered. We encourage you to call your auto insurance agent to learn more about uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage.